The Journey Continues

The Ignition

During Jayden’s (son to a friend of mine) birthday bash I brought my trusty N6006 along and snapped away. During my snapperazzi moments guys would ask to see the photos I had taken of them while at the bash explaining why I was shooting film in a digital world  was considered Oldskool at some point it began to bother me and it’s out of this bother that the Ignition was born…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some more googling and a dozen other photog sites and blogs the search of a digital SLR was born having been ‘using’ (Keyword) a Nikon for the past 5months the learning curve has not been as steep. A choice was to be made and there was only one outcome TeamNikon.

The choices were narrowed down to these three i.e. Nikon D90, D300 and D7000 cost and functionality were largely the determining factor and how much coins would be available. It was later unanimously agreed that the D90 ticked all the available boxes. This was the easy part now the hard part was to collect enough coins to acquire this new toy…

The Flame

By luck or chance I managed to gather some major coins and it by coincidence, one of my in-laws was visiting the Diaspora and the acquisition was finally made. After an anxious wait December 12 2010 Baibey was finally delivered safely into my hands in +254 02.

With the arrival on Baibey the trusty N6006’s thunder was irretrievably stolen his outings and usage nearly none existent but i have a feeling that it is like the proverbial phoenix you never bet against its return though on a limited capacity or occasional play even the substitutes get their minutes of playtime right? It will have always a space in my bag am sure at some point it will come in handy.

Keeping the fire Burning

With the arrival of Baibey there was a need to seek out a sensei who would share with me wisdom/expertise some of the secrets of this beast in my hands. I have had the privilege of having relations both far and near of career photographers. Thanks to Charles -Shutterspeed and Wagema I began understanding more about the technical stuff that the D90 is made up of and what it could do.

The intention to get Baibey in December was so that I would have enough skills to be able to take photos of the real baby (referred from here onwards as Aaron Toto Handsome) by the time he was born around February.

The skills came in drops due to work engagements and Mama Toto Handsome being expectant practice was largely limited. I did a lot of reading trying to master shutter speed, aperture and ISO I soldiered on grabbing moments whenever possible.

Slowly I stumbled upon good shots and those not so good. I played around with settings the entire Auto range (Dumb Mode) always twisting that knob to achieve what i thought at that time was near perfect images. It was not easy but somehow through Gods grace I soldiered on.

On the 28th day of February 2011 Toto Handsome was born coming in at 3.8kgs quite the bouncing baby boy and my soon to be guinea pig. It was a joyous occasion 1 year 4months down the line I am still in awe of the miracle uncovering in front of my eyes daily.

Since then the images kept rolling (more than 25000 images already) there is a famous photographer who said that your first 10000 images are probably the worst you will have taken I am assuming with that my quota of bad images is over **just a thought** Along the way I managed to discover Adobe Lightroom which is like super cool software for post-production processing (basically editing images) in ways I only saw in other peoples works.

I have come a long way and the images I’ve taken or continue to take suggest that there has been steady progress/growth with a little help from Lightroom I am enjoying this I wish I had picked up the camera much earlier than I did.

I have had the pleasure of poxing myself to shoot Film and Digital at several of my friends weddings**not as the main snapperazzi or second shooter but as a guest**, Nature, Travel, Street, Abstract, Studio without lights, Night, you name it here are some of all that combined.

It’s been a worthwhile adventure since then Baibey and I have been inseparable we have ventured to various places in this great country of ours to the Coast (Kilifi, Malindi) Nyanza (Kisumu) Western (Emuhaya) Rift Valley (Kajiado, Nakuru, Naivasha) and we have met lots of very nice people along the way. We intend to go for more adventures the more the exotic/remote the locations the better (Northern Frontier Added to Wish List).

Sainara.. till nextweek

Leave a Reply

